Fireworks can be an exciting way to celebrate. Fireworks need to be treated with respect and care. Consider attending a professional fireworks display in place of lighting personal fireworks.
In Utah, some fireworks are illegal. Generally, if they are sold in Utah, the are legal to use in Utah. If you could not purchase the firework in Utah, it is not legal to light that firework in Utah at any time.
When conditions make the risk of wildfire extremely high, many areas will not allow firework use of any kind. Check for local restrictions before lighting fireworks.
Recommended Use Locations within Cedar City Limits (ordinance 17-18(F))
All Classifications of fireworks that are permitted by State law may be used at times prescribed by state law. Also, it is recommended that fire works only be used in large open spaces where conditions are present to provide for fire control. Such recommended places include the South parking lot of Cedar High School; the parking lot at the Constitutional Softball Park; the aquatic center parking lot; the Iron Springs Elementary parking lot; the Canyon View Middle School parking lot; and any other location that the Cedar City Fire Department may recommend.
Discharge times and dates:
Between the hours of 11am and 11pm except as noted:
July 1 – July 7(July 4 hours extended to midnight)
July 21 – 27(July 24 hours extended to midnight)
Here are a few safety tips from the National Council on Fireworks Safety
Use fireworks outdoors only.
Obey local laws. If fireworks are not legal where you live, do not use them! (unincorporated areas of Iron County)
Always have water handy (a hose or buckets of water).
Only use fireworks as intended. DO NOT try to alter them or combine them.
Never re-light a "dud" firework (wait 20 minutes and then soak it in a bucket of water).fireworks
Use common sense when using fireworks. Spectators should keep a safe distance from the fireworks. The person lighting the fireworks should wear safety glasses.
Alcohol and fireworks do not mix! Have a "designated" person light fireworks.
Only persons over age 12 should be allowed to handle sparklers of any type.
DO NOT ever use homemade fireworks or illegal explosives; they can kill you! Report illegal explosives to the fire or police department in your community.
For additional information visit The Utah State Fire Marshal web site